EXECUTIVE SECRETARIES & EXECUTIVE OFFICERS OF THE ASSOCIATION*

1938 - 2022



1938-1962 Ralph A. Gallagher, S.J., Loyola University, Chicago, IL
1963-1966 Sister M. Aquinice, O.P., Rosary College (now Dominican University), River Forest, IL
1967-1968 Sister Claire Marie Sawyer, Alverno College, Milwaukee, WI
1969-1972 Eugene Janson, S.M., St. Mary's College, San Antonio, TX
1973-1974 Loretta Morris, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA
1975-1978 Roger Irle, Northern Illinois University
1979-1983 Robert (Bob) McNamara, Loyola University, Chicago, IL
1984-1988 Theodore (Ted) E. Long, Washington and Jefferson College, PA
1989-1996 Barbara J. Denison, Lebanon Valley College, PA
1997-2012 William H. Swatos, Jr., a priest of the Anglican Diocese of Quincy, IL
2012-2016 James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
2016-present Rachel Kraus, Ball State University, Muncie, IN

^{*}Prior to William H. Swatos' term, the Executive Officer was referred to as the "Executive Secretary." Prior to 1971, the Association for the Sociology of Religion was named "The American Catholic Sociological Society."